Loudoun DUI Lawyer
If you have been charged with a DUI in Loudoun County, Virginia, rest assured that you do not have suffering through such a daunting legal ordeal alone. Contact Loudoun DUI Lawyer Patrick Woolley today for a free consultation and to learn more about how you can defend yourself against DUI charges in Loudoun County and throughout the Commonwealth of Virginia.
- Your License After a DUI
- What To Expect Following an Arrest
- Third Offense DUI Charges
- DUI Drug Charges
- Aggravating Factors
- Trends and Unique Aspects of Loudoun County DUI Cases
- What To Expect From Court
- Mistakes to Avoid
- Basics of a Loudoun County DUI Stop
- Field Sobriety Tests
- Damage Control
- Building a Defense
- Loudoun DUI Myths
- Underage DUI Lawyer
- Being Charged While on Probation
- Victim Impact Panels
- Pre-Trial Release and Bond
- DUI Driving Without a License
- Impact of an Offense on Employment
- Receiving Medical Attention
Although Virginia’s DUI laws are applicable across all counties in the Commonwealth, there are idiosyncrasies in how some of the counties may handle certain aspects of any criminal case. For this reason, it is important to contact a local DUI attorney who is familiar with how local DMVs, courts, and law enforcement authorities function on a day-to-day basis. For a general overview of DUI offenses in Loudoun County, feel free to refer to the following information as a general guide. For answers to your specific questions, you should consult with a dedicated Loudoun County DUI lawyer.
DUI in Loudoun County
According to Virginia Code Section 18.2-266 drivers may be charged with DUI if they are found to have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08 percent of greater. It’s important to note that drivers have been charged with DUI with lesser BAC levels and with any measurable or noticeable drug impairment. Furthermore, there are a number of tests used in Loudon DUI drug cases that an officer can provide as evidence and testimony based on the results of these tests, observations of driving behavior, and more.
DUI Penalties in Loudoun County, Va.
In Virginia, driving under the influence (DUI) is a very serious charge and even a first-time conviction can result in up to 12 months in jail, a fine of up to $2,500, or both. See Section 18.2-11(a). If, however, your BAC measures between 0.15 percent and 0.21 percent at the time of your arrest, a mandatory minimum jail term of five days is added to your penalty upon conviction. For a BAC of 0.21 percent or greater, the mandatory minimum increases to 10 days. In such cases, the driver’s license will be suspended for a period of 12 months. If this is a first offense, you may be able to qualify for a restricted license to go to work, school, and other court-approved destinations. Such a license is usually only allowed if you also have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle.
For those who have suffered multiple convictions, the penalties can increase substantially. In the event you are convicted a second time within 10 years of your first DUI conviction, that mandatory minimum jail term jumps to 10 days. This means that you must serve the time, you cannot qualify for good behavior or early release. If, however, your BAC is 0.15 percent or more, the mandatory minimum increases by an additional five to 10 days, depending on the discretion of the court. If you are convicted of a second DUI with five years of the first conviction in Loudoun County, the minimum sentence you will serve spikes to 20 days.
If you are on your third or subsequent offense then you may be facing a felony DUI offense and should therefore consult with an attorney as soon as possible to discuss your case.
Other Penalties Related to Loudoun DUIs
Those convicted of DUI or DWI face not only jail time and fines, but will also be required to attend a DUI class organized by the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program. A conviction could also potentially lead to collateral damage to a person’s career and personal life. This can include, but is not necessarily limited to issues with:
- Finding Employment
- Security Clearance
- Driving Privileges
- Education Opportunities
- Ability to Take Out Loans
- and More.
A Loudoun DUI Lawyer Can Help
It is important to have a Loudoun DUI attorney to protect you from potentially devastating consequences of a DUI charge. There are many different defense strategies for DUI charges, and only an experienced Loudoun DUI lawyer can choose the right ones for a client’s case. Constitutional challenges, procedural motions, and investigative strategies are all possible avenues for protecting a client’s rights. Contact Loudoun DUI attorney Patrick Woolley today if you have any questions at (703) 957-7373. He also handles other criminal charges.
Follow the links below to learn more about some of the frequently asked questions that clients ask our Loudoun DUI attorneys:
- What is DUI in Loudoun County?
- What Happens After Being Stopped For DUI in Loudoun County?
- When You Should Contact a Lawyer For DUI Cases in Loudoun County
- Are DUI’s and DUID’s a Priority for Police in Loudoun County?
- Can You Refuse DUI Tests in Loudoun County?
Patrick Woolley Attorney At Law
Leesburg, VA 20175
Warrenton, VA 20186