Virginia Traffic Lawyer
In Virginia, what may seem like a traffic citation or moving violation could actually be a serious offense with heavy fines and repercussions for your driving privileges. As a result, it is important to contact a Virginia traffic lawyer if you are unsure or have any questions about any charges or traffic violations. Call today for a free consultation with a traffic attorney who will give you an initial case analysis.
Beginning on July 1, 2013, several notable changes to Virginia driving laws came into effect in the Commonwealth. You can read more about what’s changed with Virginia Driving Laws.
When Can a Virginia Traffic Lawyer Help?
A traffic defense attorney can be an asset when facing traffic-related infractions or charges. Traffic offenses range widely from infractions like speeding tickets to serious traffic-related criminal offenses, which can include DUIs and reckless driving.
An experienced traffic lawyer in Virginia will have an understanding of the law enforcement practices and legal issues that come up in these cases. Even if you are not sure you want representation, it can be beneficial to call for a free consultation to learn more about your options.
Virginia Driving While Suspended
Many circumstances can lead to a charge of driving on a suspended license, including accumulation of points on your license, failure to pay a traffic fine you may not have known about, or a more serious offense such as a DUI, a reckless driving conviction, or drug possession. While the suspension of driving privileges is never an easy restriction to contend with, it’s important to comply with a driver’s license suspension. However, many drivers operate a vehicle on a suspended license each day, unaware of their license was suspended or revoked.
If your Virginia driver’s license has been suspended and you have been cited during a traffic stop, it is important to immediately address the situation. Driving while suspended is a serious offense that carries severe penalties including heavy fines, lengthy suspension of driving privileges and can even result in prison time. If you find yourself charged with driving with suspended license or driving with a revoked license, contacting a traffic lawyer in Virginia with experience in fighting this charge will ensure you receive the best defense available to you.
Penalties for Virginia Driving on Suspended License
The legal consequences for driving while suspended or driving while revoked depend on several factors, such as the reason your license was originally suspended. If failure to pay a fine caused your license to be suspended, consequences range from compounded fines to an extended suspension and jail time. The court may allow you to obtain a restricted license.
Even if it is your first offense, the maximum penalties for driving while suspended in Virginia include:
- Additional license suspension equal to the period of the initial suspension or for up to 90 days
- $2,500 fine
- One year in jail
While consequences for driving on a suspended license are severe for a first offense, subsequent offenses can incur even greater penalties, with mandatory jail time for a third or subsequent offense. The relevant statute dictates that a judge cannot suspend the sentence for this conviction, even if the judge wishes to do so. Driving while suspended for a DUI carries an additional penalty of a one-year license suspension above the standard penalties for the charge following failure to pay a traffic fine.
Driving on a license revoked for a DUI is a felony offense, with possible sentences of one to five years in prison, or an alternative sentence of a fine up to $2500 and up to one year in jail. The offense also carries an additional 3-year loss of license or privilege to drive.
Click here for more information about DUI charges in Virginia.
Driving Without Registration in Virginia
Valid registration is required to operate a motor vehicle on state roads. A charge of driving without registration can result from several circumstances. Occasionally a vehicle’s registration will lapse without the car’s owner being aware of the circumstance. Failure to register a vehicle within a designated time frame can also lead to a charge of driving without registration. While a relatively minor offense, if you are pulled over and found to be driving without registration or expired tags, it can be an expensive headache.
To register a car in Virginia, you must meet several requirements. If you fail to comply with any aspect of the registration requirements, in addition to inability to register your vehicle, you may face other DMV and traffic charges.
Virginia Vehicle Title
Liability insurance equal to or greater than 25/50/20 Payment and renewal of the Uninsured Motor Vehicle (UMV) fee in lieu of liability insurance Emissions Certificate (For Arlington, Leesburg, Loudoun, Prince William and Stafford Counties) Court costs and fines are a hassle, and can be a further burden on a driver who may have received the citation due to financial hardship. If you have been cited in Virginia for driving without registration or driving with expired tags, an experienced Virginia traffic lawyer can help mitigate the financial consequences and fight your ticket. Your Virginia traffic attorney can examine your case and determine whether you have grounds to fight the complaint.