Spotsylvania Theft Attorney
If you have been charged with a theft offense in Spotsylvania County, not only are you likely facing very serious legal consequences, but your professional and personal life may suffer as well because of the collateral consequences associated with a theft conviction.
When you are accused of theft, an experienced Spotsylvania theft lawyer might be able to help you avoid many, or all, of the consequences associated with a negative result following a theft prosecution.
Theft Crime Penalties in Spotsylvania
The dividing line between misdemeanor and felony theft (or fraud) charges is typically the value of goods or services stolen ($200). If found guilty of any of the crimes listed below, you may face potential jail time, fines, and additional restrictions:
- Theft/grand larceny: [Virginia Code Section 18.2-96]
- Petit larceny (including shoplifting) [Virginia Code Section 18.2-95]
- Receiving stolen goods [Virginia Code Section 18.2-108]
- Computer theft and fraud offenses [Virginia Code Section 18.2-152.3]
- Writing bad checks [Virginia Code 18.2-181.1]
- Identity theft (and fraud) [Virginia Code Section 18.2-186.3]
- Credit card theft [Virginia Code Section 18.2-192]
- Credit car fraud [Virginia Code Section 18.2-195]
- Embezzlement [Virginia Code Section 18.2-111]
- Carjacking [Virginia Code Section 18.2-58.1]
Misdemeanor theft of any kind is typically a class 1 misdemeanor, punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $2,500. Felony theft punishments are much more severe and may incur lengthy prison sentences, depending on the nature of the specific offense. The penalties for theft offenses can increase quickly if there are multiple counts, large amounts of damages, or weapons involved.
The difference between robbery and burglary is that the former, though a crime of property, is usually committed face-to-face, and the possibility of violence is greater. Burglary, on the other hand, is generally viewed as merely a property crime.
Breaking and entering a locked home or business for the purposes of burglary is a felony. Most other various on “breaking and entering” are also felony offenses. However, if the breaking and offense does not involve underlying intent to commit a felony and certain other criteria are met, it may be considered a misdemeanor .
Enhanced Penalties for Theft and Burglary Convictions
Armed robbery sentences begin at five years, but if one is convicted of aggravated armed robbery where the victim was harmed, and depending on the severity of the harm, convicted persons may receive up to a life prison sentence.
The penalties for being convicted of burglary, a class 3 felony, are five to 20 years in prison and a fine of up to $100,000. If the burglar was armed with a deadly weapon, the offense is considered much more severe and the penalty ramps up to a class 2 felony. This means that burglary with a deadly weapon may result in a sentence of 20 years to life in prison and a fine of up to $100,000 [Virginia Code Section 18.2-89].
Many of the above theft offenses committed in the Commonwealth of Virginia are prosecuted in state courts. If there victims are residents of other states and the crimes occur across state lines, however, they may be prosecuted in federal court [18 U.S.C. 31]. Most of these federal theft crimes will involve white-collar crimes, such as many types of fraud, identity theft, embezzlement, and other computer-related crimes.
Contact a Theft Attorney in Spotsylvania, Virginia
Regardless of the theft charge, and whether it’s a first offense or not, an experienced Spotsylvania theft lawyer who knows the local prosecutors and judges can give you valuable insight into the strengths and weakness of the facts of your particular case and help you understand applicable Virginia law and local procedures. Our insight can help you formulate a cohesive defense to your charges or a sound mitigation strategy to protect your interests and your future. If you have questions about Spotsylvania County theft charges, call an experienced attorney from our firm today.