Mecklenburg Reckless Driving Lawyer
If someone was issued a reckless driving ticket in Mecklenburg, it is important to realize that it is considered a misdemeanor crime and not just a minor moving violation. According to the Code of Virginia, someone in Mecklenburg could be charged with reckless driving if they drive a vehicle “so as to endanger the life, limb, or property of any person” (46.2-852). The general rule is very broad. Other driving behaviors may be considered “reckless,” such as:
- Excessively speeding (46.2-862)
- Unsafely passing other vehicles (i.e. emergency vehicles, stopped school buses, two vehicles abreast, at a railroad crossing)
- Driving with an obstructed view
- Racing other vehicles
- Driving too fast in parking lots
- Any other moving violation that is deemed “reckless” by a law enforcement officer due to its potential to cause injury or damage
The individual should contact a distinguished criminal lawyer as soon as possible after receiving a reckless driving ticket. A Mecklenburg reckless driving lawyer will be on their side throughout the legal process, keeping the individual informed, preparing them for any court appearances, taking care of complex paperwork, and fighting to reduce penalties or even getting charges dropped.
Reckless Driving Penalties
Reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor in Virginia. However, since each case is so different and because judges use their own discretion on a case-by-case basis, the penalties can be relatively minor or very harsh. Speaking generally, someone could be facing:
- License Suspension: The individual could lose driving privileges for up to six months, depending on the type of reckless driving you were cited for. However, if a person is charged with reckless driving for drag racing, he or she will face an automatic six-month license suspension that can be extended for up to two years (Code of Virginia 46.2-865).
- Fines: Since reckless driving is a Class 1 misdemeanor, someone could technically face up to $2,500 in fines. It is uncommon to pay a fine that steep, however, significant fines are regularly assessed. They may also be responsible for court fines.
- Driving Record: In Virginia, an individual’s driving record is based on a point system. Everyone starts out with 0 DMV points and accumulates +1 point each year to reach a perfect record of +5 points. If someone is convicted of reckless driving, they could face up to 6 demerit points, which would leave you with a negative point balance.
This is important because, based on their points, the DMV can place someone on driving probation, suspend their license, or require them to complete a driver improvement clinic. These demerit points will stay on their driving record for 11 years.
A Class 1 misdemeanor charge in Virginia is punishable by up to one year in jail. Fortunately, reckless driving rarely results in jail time, but it is still possible to spend a time in jail depending on the circumstances of the case. Talk to a Mecklenburg reckless driving lawyer if someone is worried about potential jail time. A Mecklenburg reckless driving lawyer can discuss the facts of the case with the individual being charged and will fight to keep them out of jail.
Contacting a Reckless Driving Attorney
Fear of the unknown is common for people facing reckless driving charges. That is why Mecklenburg reckless driving lawyers are devoted to clearing up the confusion and providing their clients with legal support so that they can get their confidence back.