(571) 234-5960
Experienced Virginia
Criminal Defense Lawyer

Brunswick DUI Lawyer

In Brunswick, any driver with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.08% or more is considered legally intoxicated. Drivers can face DUI charges with BAC at or above this legal intoxication limit. However, for drivers, this legal intoxication limit is lower, meaning that certain drivers could face DUI charges with less than 0.08% BAC. Commercial drivers could face charges with a BAC of 0.04%. Minors under the age of 21 with a BAC of just 0.02% could also face charges.

The penalty for driving while intoxicated can vary based on a driver’s age, and their license type. In most cases, any driver convicted of a DUI will lose their license for at least some time. Anyone facing a DUI charge should contact an experienced DUI attorney right away. Drivers must protect their driving records, and the best way to do that is by contacting a Brunswick DUI lawyer immediately.

DUI Charges

State law does not differentiate between a DUI resulting from intoxication, and one resulting from drug impairment. In other words, a driver impaired by drugs can face the same DUI as an intoxicated driver. Virginia Code Section 18.2-266 prohibits drivers from operating a motor vehicle while under the influence of:

  • Any narcotic drug
  • Any other self-administered drug
  • Any combination of narcotic or other drugs
  • Any combination of alcohol and any drugs

It is important to note that a driver impaired by drugs in Brunswick could face a DUI even if the drugs were prescribed to them. Any drug that alters a motorist’s ability to safely drive is considered an impairing drug under state law. A Brunswick DUI attorney who has experienced in DUI drug cases can be helpful in building their client’s defense to their impaired driving charges.


Whether a driver is facing a DUI for intoxication or drug impairment, Brunswick penalties upon conviction remain the same. Brunswick DUI lawyers often see penalties for DUI conviction that could including jail sentences, fines, a driver’s license suspension, and/or other penalties.

  • First offense: a $250 fine and license revocation for 1 year
  • Second offense: a $500 fine, license revocation for 3 years, and a jail sentence up to one year
  • Third offense: a $1,000 fine, indefinite license revocation, and a prison sentence between one and five years
  • Subsequent offense: fines and potential jail or prison sentences can continue to increase with each subsequent offense

Related Charges

Often, DUI charges in Brunswick go hand-in-hand with other, related driving charges. Two such related are reckless driving and refusing an alcohol breath test. State law treats DUI charge seriously, even first offenses. It is recommended someone who is charged contact a criminal attorney because they can answer any questions about the potential penalties the person will face, and the criminal legal process specifically.

  • Reckless driving: an intoxicated motorist may drive in a manner likely to cause injury or property damage. In such cases, the driver could face a reckless driving charge. Penalties for conviction include up to 12 months in jail; fines up to $2,500; six DMV points; and driver’s license suspension up to six months
  • Refusing a breath test: Refusing a breath test is a Class 2 misdemeanor under Section 18.2-268.3. Penalties for conviction of refusing a breath test include a driver’s license suspension for one year and a $500 fine.

Contacting an Attorney

If you are facing charges, it is important to contact an experienced Brunswick DUI attorney as soon as possible. Skilled attorneys who have worked with DUI cases in local Brunswick courts will best know how to defend their client and prepare them for their case. A DUI lawyer in Brunswick is essential help.

Northern Virginia Criminal Defense Group

Northern Virginia Criminal Defense Group
Northern Virginia Criminal Defense Group
18 Liberty St SW

Leesburg VA 20175
Times: 7am to 11pm - Mon to Sun
Northern Virginia Criminal Defense Group
32 Waterloo St

Warrenton VA 20186
Times: 7am to 11pm - Mon to Sun
Northern Virginia Criminal Defense Group
9119 Church Street

Manassas VA 20110
Times: 7am to 11pm - Mon to Sun
Free Case Evaluation
For a FREE CASE EVALUATION, fill out the form and one of our attorneys will contact you.