Penalties For Reckless Driving By Speed in Virginia
Although there are a variety of ways one can be charged with reckless driving in Virginia, the most common is reckless driving by speed. If you are charged with this offense you may face a variety of penalties including license suspension, fines, and in some cases jail time. As a result, it is imperative you understand exactly how serious your case is and take the necessary steps to put forth the strongest possible defense. For more specific information regarding your reckless driving by speed case in VA, call and schedule a consultation with a Virginia reckless driving lawyer today.
Consequences For Reckless Driving By Speed
Depending on the speed at which you are caught and the posted speed limit, reckless driving by speed has a variety of different consequences. Driving by speed is a class 1 misdemeanor, meaning it is punishable by up to 12 months in jail and up to a $2,500 fine or a combination thereof. In addition reckless driving by speed also may include up to 6 months loss of your Virginia driving privileges.
If you are a Virginia licensed driver, then this means the suspension of your Virginia license. If you are an out-of-state driver, this means up to a 6-month suspension of your privilege to operate a motor vehicle in the Commonwealth of Virginia. For this reason, it is important to talk to an experienced reckless driving attorney familiar with Virginia reckless driving laws, the jurisdiction in which you are charged, and the potential defenses for this case.
In most cases walking in and explaining to the judge that you had a bad day or that you weren’t driving at that speed is not a sound strategy. In addition, many local jurisdictions—especially those in Northern Virginia—begin to put drivers in jail when they exceed certain thresholds. Those thresholds are notably above 90 mph or in some cases and scenarios 30 mph above the posted speed limit.
In order to know whether your reckless driving case is one that may have enhanced penalties or if it is one that your attorney may be able to work with you, the Commonwealth Attorney, and the officer to achieve a reduction or dismissal, it is important to contact an experienced reckless driving attorney right away.
Penalties for Commercial Drivers
If you have a commercial driver’s license (CDL) and you are charged with reckless driving—whether or not you are driving a commercial vehicle at the time of the offense—it is certainly important to contact an experienced reckless driving attorney right away. A reckless driving conviction might have serious adverse consequences for a commercial driver that are more serious than those for a typical non-commercial driver. Commercial drivers are held to higher standards in the Commonwealth of Virginia and a reckless driving charge could have serious consequences with both short-term and long-term implications.