(571) 234-5960
FREE CONSULTATION
Experienced Virginia
Criminal Defense Lawyer

Fauquier County Burglary Lawyer

Burglary is defined under Virginia Code Section 18.2-89 as any person who breaks into a dwelling or house of another with the intent to commit a felony or other larceny therein. If you have been charged with this offense, contact an experienced attorney in Fauquier County for legal advice and representation.

If the person is unarmed and entering with the intent to commit larceny, then it is a class 3 felony.  If they are armed with a deadly weapon, then it gets elevated to a class 2 felony. So it is already a serious felony but if there’s a deadly weapon involved, typically a gun or a knife, then the offense is elevated to a class 2 felony.

Statutory Burglary in Fauquier County

Burglary is the breaking into a dwelling or house with the intent to commit larceny. It is a very specific set of circumstances of burglary that are envisioned.

Looking at the code, the general assembly decided that there are certain instances where they should define burglary more specifically and more broadly. So Virginia Code Sections 18.2-90 and 18.2-91 are called statutory burglary.

18.2-90 is the more serious type of statutory burglary. It accounts for burglary in the following:

  • Other buildings
  • Ships
  • Vessels
  • Railroad cars
  • Cars
  • Trailers
  • Mobile homes

If the intent to murder, rape, robbery, or arson can be proven then it is statutory burglary which is a class 3 felony.

Common Law Burglary in Fauquier County

Common law burglary is still very serious if that person has a deadly weapon, which makes it a class 2 felony. A typical penalty for statutory burglary is 1-20 days in jail or up to 12 months in jail and a fine. So it’s that unclassified felony similar to grand larceny. But if they have a deadly weapon, even if they’re just to break in and steal stuff, or beat up somebody, or commit another felony, if there’s a weapon involved it’s still elevated to a class 2 felony.

It’s a class 3 felony but if it is committed with a deadly weapon then it becomes a class 2 felony. Retaining a Fauquier County burglary lawyer is important because they can defend and advocate for your rights in court.

Do You Need To Commit Another Felony For Common Law Burglary?

No. You don’t need to commit a second felony offense to be charged with common law or statutory burglary. You simply need to have the intent to do so. That intent can be inferred by circumstantial evidence so it does not have to be direct evidence to prove that. For example, for common law burglary or statutory burglary under Section 18.2-90, if they enter the home with a map of places to start a fire or with fire starting materials, then they may be deemed to be entering a house with the intent to commit arson which means it’s a class 3 felony. They don’t have to actually begin the arson. Contact a Fauquier County burglary lawyer to move forward with your specific case.

Patrick Woolley Attorney At Law

Patrick Woolley Attorney At Law
N/a
map
Patrick Woolley Attorney At Law
18 Liberty St SW
#200

Leesburg VA 20175
Times: 7am to 11pm - Mon to Sun
map
Patrick Woolley Attorney At Law
32 Waterloo St
#301

Warrenton VA 20186
Times: 7am to 11pm - Mon to Sun
map
Patrick Woolley Attorney At Law
9119 Church Street
#14

Manassas VA 20110
Times: 7am to 11pm - Mon to Sun
Free Case Evaluation
Close
For a FREE CASE EVALUATION, fill out the form and one of our attorneys will contact you.