(571) 234-5960
FREE CONSULTATION
Experienced Virginia
Criminal Defense Lawyer

What Can Happen When I Go To Trial for DUI?

If you go to trial for a first offense DUI with a blood alcohol content above 0.08 but below 0.15 and with moderate driving behavior, for example speeding or swerving, the court could impose active jail time or the court could suspend the jail time. The most the court could do would be to impose 12 months of active jail time.  For a first offense DUI, 12 months of active jail time would be very unlikely, but it could happen.

If you are found guilty of a DUI offense, there are certain things that will definitely happen. You will have some period of active or suspended jail time, depending on the jurisdiction. You will have a fine of at least $250.00 or possibly more, depending on the jurisdiction. You will have court costs to pay, which will be around $200. There will be other requirements, such as the completion of an Alcohol Safety Action Program. There may also be additional classes depending on the jurisdiction. There will be a mandatory 12-month loss of either your driver’s license or your driving privileges, depending on whether you are an out-of-state driver. There may be a restricted license issued depending the circumstances of your case as well as your driving history.

[Return to Virginia FAQs]

Disclaimer

 

Patrick Woolley Attorney At Law

Patrick Woolley Attorney At Law
N/a
map
Patrick Woolley Attorney At Law
18 Liberty St SW
#200

Leesburg VA 20175
Times: 7am to 11pm - Mon to Sun
map
Patrick Woolley Attorney At Law
32 Waterloo St
#301

Warrenton VA 20186
Times: 7am to 11pm - Mon to Sun
map
Patrick Woolley Attorney At Law
9119 Church Street
#14

Manassas VA 20110
Times: 7am to 11pm - Mon to Sun
Free Case Evaluation
Close
For a FREE CASE EVALUATION, fill out the form and one of our attorneys will contact you.