Fauquier County Reckless Driving Attorney
Reckless driving in Fauquier County, Virginia is a Class 1 misdemeanor, which is the same criminal classification as a first-time DUI/DWI charge. That means that a criminal conviction for reckless driving will likely impact your auto insurance premiums and it could affect your ability to pass certain background and security clearances. This is a serious issue if your job or military services depends on such clearance. Misdemeanor convictions can even interfere with your ability to gain acceptance to the university or college of your choice or land the job of your dreams. This is why anyone who is charged with reckless driving in Fauquier County should speak with a Fauquier County criminal lawyer who has experience in defending clients against such charges in this jurisdiction.
The penalty for a first-offense is up to a year in jail and/or up to $2,500 in fines. Those convicted of reckless driving could also have their driving privileges suspended for up to six months.
What is Reckless Driving in Fauquier County?
You can be found guilty of reckless driving if you’re traveling 20 mph or more above the posted speed limit or more than 80 mph, regardless of the speed limit. Drivers from other states are usually surprised at this seriousness of this charge and that the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles frequently notifies the out-of-state driver’s DMV office of their citation.
Reckless Driving & other Major Driving Violations in Fauquier
Reckless driving charges are generally defined as any moving violation that endangers the general public, the driver, and/or property. See Virginia Code Section 46.2-852. Some of the qualifying offenses may seem obvious, but some are surprising. The following actions may be cited as reckless driving:
- Failure to signal
- Failure to yield
- Illegal passing
- Aggressive driving
- Drag racing
- Attempting to elude police
- Passing a vehicle at a railroad crossings
- Failure to maintain a vehicle
How your case unfolds depends on a number of factors. Issues that may be used against your include not only the offense for which you were charged but also your interaction with the police officer and your driving history. That is why it is important for your Fauquier County reckless driving attorney to investigate all aspects of your charge, as well as your driving record, and negotiate with prosecutors if acquittal or dismissal of your case is not likely. If you have been charged with a reckless driving; considering the short and long-term ramifications we outlined above, you are best-served be seeking experienced legal counsel as soon as possible.
Reckless Driving and the Virginia DMV Point System
In Virginia, reckless driving is a six point violation. The following list illustrates how long the reckless driving offenses may remain on your driving record.
- Speeding more than 80 mph (11 years)
- Speeding 20 mph or more above the posted speed limit (11 years)
- Drag racing (11 years)
- Overtaking an emergency vehicle (11 years)
- Driving too fast for road/weather conditions (11 years)
- Improper passing at a railroad crossing (11 years)
- Improper passing two vehicles abreast (11 years)
- Driving two vehicles abreast (11 years)
- Faulty brakes/improper control (11 years)
Can a Fauquier County Reckless Driving Lawyer Help Me?
The short answer is yes. In many reckless driving cases, a skilled litigator can work to get a reckless driving charge – which is a criminal offense – reduced to a less serious traffic offense. Your attorney may also get the charge dismissed if the evidence that the Assistant Commonwealth’s Attorney is relying on is weak. A knowledgeable and experienced Fauquier County Reckless Driving Lawyer will know how to evaluate all the facts of your case to determine the best-possible defense strategy.
If you are facing reckless driving charges in Warrenton, make sure to contact an experienced local attorney to help you mitigate the potential consequences associated with such a charge.