Fairfax Gun Lawyer
In Virginia, firearms-related charges are treated extremely seriously, carrying serious penalties, such as high fines and even incarceration. If you’ve been charged with any crime involving a firearm in Northern Virginia, contact a Fairfax gun lawyer to learn about how you may be able to defend yourself from these serious charges.
Our criminal defense practice group in Fairfax commonly defends clients who have been accused of illegally possessing or transporting a firearm, and we understand that these cases can have high stakes and should be treated with the utmost care.
Gun Offenses in Fairfax, Virginia
Although Virginia’s gun policies may seem fairly mild in relation to the laws in neighboring jurisdictions such as Maryland and the District of Columbia, prosecutors and law enforcement still vigorously pursue individuals who violate them. Some of the gun-related charges that individuals commonly face in Fairfax include:
- Carrying a weapon without a permit
- Possessing an unregistered firearm
- Making a false statement on a permit application
- Being a minor in possession of a firearm
- Being a felon in possession of a firearm
- Intentionally or recklessly discharging a weapon
- Unlawfully selling a weapon
- Having a loaded gun in a vehicle
- Illegally transporting weapons
- Possessing automatic firearms or assault weapons
There are also places where it is universally prohibited for civilians to carry guns. These include:
- Places of religious worship
- Airport terminals
If you or a loved one have been accused of any of the above-stated charges, get in touch with a Fairfax gun attorney to review your defense options. When such sensitive and highly polarized issues as gun control are at stake, it helps to work with a legal advocate who understands the delicate nature of the situation.
Potential Consequences for VA Gun Charges
Whether the gun-related charges you are facing are independent or accompany charges for another criminal offense, there are some pretty steep penalties at stake.
Carrying a Concealed Weapon
A first offense for carrying a concealed weapon is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor. If convicted, defendants can face up to a year in jail and/or have to pay a fine of no more than $2,500. A second offense would be classified as a Class 6 felony, which is punishable by a one to five year prison sentence or no more than a $2,500 fine and/or up to a year in jail. A Class 5 felony is a third possible offense. If convicted, you could receive a 10 year prison sentence or no more than a $2,500 fine and/or up to a year in jail.
Armed Components of Other Crimes
In addition, certain criminal charges (such as assault and larceny) have their own unique armed component that can enhance the penalties a person can receive if convicted. For example, simple burglary carries a minimum sentence of five years, but if the suspect has a holstered gun when committing burglary, the minimum prison sentence becomes 20 years.
If you have been accused of any firearm-related crime, it’s essential to get in touch with an experienced VA gun attorney quickly to vet your defense options and start building a proactive strategy that can be employed in court or during negotiations with the prosecution.
Contact our Law Offices Today
Serious gun charges put individuals at risk for consequences that can impact the rest of their lives. If you want to learn about how to go about mitigating the possible damages posed by your gun-related charges, speak with an aggressive Fairfax gun lawyer at our firm today. We can conduct your free initial consultation and help you work for a brighter future.