Fairfax First Offense DUI Lawyer
DUIs are a common offense in Virginia, but facing one alone can be a daunting task. Consequences for repeat offenses can be particularly serious but first time offenses should not be taken lightly either. Therefore if you have been charged with driving under the influence for the first time, talk with an experienced Fairfax DUI lawyer today to understand your options.
First-Time DUI Penalties
If you were pulled over while operating a motor vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of 0.08 or higher, you may be charged for violating Virginia’s DUI laws. According to the Virginia Code, a DUI is a criminal offense. As soon as you are charged, your license may be suspended administratively for a minimum of seven days. If you are convicted, fines up to $2,500 with a minimum of $250 may be instituted along with a license suspension of one year. In some cases, jail time is also required.
If you are convicted of a DUI and your BAC fell between 0.15 and 0.20, your offense will require a license suspension, a hefty fine and a five day mandatory minimum jail sentence.
For BAC levels of 0.20 or higher, all of the above penalties are issued, but the jail sentence is raised to a 10 day mandatory minimum.
If a DUI offense caused an accident or injury, more severe penalties are commonly doled out, with the potential of incarceration in a state correctional facility if you charged with a DUI-related felony offense. If you have already been convicted of a DUI in the past, even stricter penalties can occur.
What To Do If Charged
Because of the seriousness of the charges, employing an experienced Fairfax first DUI lawyer to review your case is imperative. When contacting an attorney, you will get knowledgeable, experienced advice and a one-on-one consultation geared towards your personal situation. For a first time DUI offense, a seasoned lawyer may help reduce sentences or possibly have the charges dismissed.
As an example, instead of a one-year hard loss of license, your attorney may convince the court to issue a restricted license that will still allow you to drive, as long as certain parameters are met. You will most likely be required to complete the Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program, but you may be able to avoid enhanced probationary options. Remember, an experienced lawyer can turn a seemingly dire situation into a very manageable one.
Contacting a Fairfax First DUI Lawyer
When handling a first time DUI charge, it’s important to have skilled representation from an experienced Fairfax first DUI attorney. You want someone in your corner who has the skills needed to combat DUI charges and come to your defense quickly. A clean driving record may be essential for your profession.
Don’t let a DUI conviction jeopardize your ability to maintain car insurance or affect your future more than it has to. A knowledgeable Fairfax first DUI lawyer may be able to reach an acquittal, and possibly minimize jail time and fines. Get in touch with a local Fairfax first DUI attorney as soon as possibly by contacting our firm today.