Fairfax Domestic Violence Penalties
Domestic violence is when someone commits an act of violence or aggression to someone else within the home, usually a spouse, former spouse, child, or roommate. Fairfax domestic violence penalties include possible prison time, expensive fines, and other harsh consequences. If you have been charged with domestic violence, you may want to speak with a seasoned domestic violence attorney. A dedicated lawyer could stand by your side and give you legal advice throughout the process.
Contacting a Domestic Violence Lawyer
If someone is charged with a crime of domestic violence, it is important to contact an experienced defense attorney right away because the defendant is facing very serious consequences. Fairfax domestic violence penalties can impact a person’s liberty. The sooner an attorney is obtained, the sooner they can begin working on a defense for someone. The lawyer needs to time to gather evidence and investigate the facts of the case.
Penalties For Domestic Violence
The penalties associated with the most common type of domestic violence, which is assault and battery of a family member under Virginia Code, Section 18.2-57.2, include up to 12 months in jail and up to a $2,500.00 fine. Additionally, there may be other penalties or requirements when someone is found guilty of a crime of domestic violence, particularly assault and battery with a family member. These can include but are not limited to supervised probation and classes required as a condition of probation, including anger management and domestic violence awareness.
Long-term Consequences of a Domestic Violence Conviction
There are serious long-term consequences of a domestic violence conviction in Fairfax. An actual conviction for a crime of domestic violence never goes away. The offense is never subject to expungement. This is different in Virginia than in other states. There may also be an indefinite criminal record that is created. Generally, society disfavors people who are convicted of domestic violence.
Even though it is only a Class 1 misdemeanor, it is probably one of the least popular Class 1 misdemeanors as far as how an employer and family members would look at the conviction. Someone convicted of assault and battery of a family member will also not be able to legally own a firearm. The collateral consequences of a domestic violence charge could impact the offender for the rest of their life.
Civil Protection Order
A civil protective order may be an additional separate legal action that is associated with a crime of domestic violence, but it is not necessarily going to carry any penalties. However, if the person violates the protective order, they could be facing additional penalties. When someone is facing Fairfax domestic violence penalties, it is important that they seek the services of a well-established attorney who could help defend them throughout the legal process. A lawyer could review the case and look for any evidence that could help mitigate charges or get them dropped altogether.
If you have been arrested for domestic violence, it may be in your best interest to consult with a knowledgeable attorney as soon as possible.