Driving is a way of life in the United States. The majority of the population relies on cars in order to carry out their day-to-day routine. Any interruption in a person’s ability to drive may result in difficulty in getting to work or going to other places.
Depending on the traffic violation, a court may take away a person’s ability to drive temporarily or even permanently. At the very least, a traffic violation may result in increased car insurance premiums.
Traffic laws range from driving under the influence of small speeding tickets and other minor infractions. No matter what kind of ticket an officer gave you, it may be beneficial to speak with an experienced defense attorney to ensure you do not unwittingly agree to penalties that you could be avoided.
A Manassas traffic lawyer understands how the legal system works and may be able to advise you on how best to minimize the impact of any traffic ticket.
Most of the time, if a person receives a traffic ticket or charge, it will occur on the side of the road, issued by a police officer. A police officer can pull a driver over if the police officer observes the driver breaking a traffic rule or suspect that person may have done something, such as driving while intoxicated. Some common violations include:
Typically the fine for a speeding ticket is not very large, depending on how much over the speed limit the driver was going. However, the points may have a large effect on a person’s driving record, which in turn can lead to increased insurance premiums. For example, if the court convicts a person of driving up to nine miles over the speed limit, that can stay on the driver’s record for five years, as noted on the Virginia DMV website.
Reckless driving is a misdemeanor and if the court convicts the driver, that driver may go to jail to up one year and pay up to $2,500 in fines, as described in the Code of Virginia § 46.2-868. The court may also suspend the driver’s license and the conviction may stay on the driver’s record for up to 11 years. Reckless driving includes going 20 miles per hour over the speed limit or merely driving in such a way that the police officer believes the driver is a danger to other people or property, as noted in the Code of Virginia § 46.2-852.
If the court convicts a person for driving while intoxicated, the first time is a Class 1 misdemeanor and the minimum punishment is $250. If the driver was heavily intoxicated, the court must also order a minimum about of time in jail, as stated in Code of Virginia § 18.2-270. Prior offenses lead to increased penalties. It is crucial for defendants facing such charges to contact a skilled traffic lawyer in Manassas.
There is typically more at stake than the mere payment of a fine. Many drivers may be more concerned with the long-lasting effects of traffic convictions. If you also share this concern, you may find it helpful to start by speaking with a Manassas traffic lawyer who may be able to help you understand the possible penalties of a ticket or charge and how to handle your matter.
The process is often not as straightforward as you may imagine and there could be hidden consequences that appear later. Protect your ability to drive and your pocketbook. Call a Manassas attorney today.
Patrick Woolley Attorney At Law