Greensville County DUI Lawyer
Driving under the influence (DUI) in Virginia comes with strict penalties, even for the first offense.
In fact, when you are initially pulled over for a DUI, your license will be immediately suspended for a period of between seven and 60 days.
This means that you might have trouble getting to work, taking your kids to school, or going about your day-to-day activities — all before you are even convicted of a DUI.
A Greensville County DUI lawyer can offer you legal representation and help you by:
- Working to get your driving privileges back
- Reducing potential penalties
- Reaching a plea agreement
- Taking care of complex paperwork
- Guiding and supporting you through the legal process
- Answering all of your questions
To build a case and help produce a successful outcome on your behalf, consult with a criminal lawyer in Greensville County as soon as possible.
DUI Laws in Greensville County
If a law enforcement officer pulls an individual over in Virginia and their blood alcohol content (BAC) registers as 0.08 percent or above, they may be charged with a DUI.
Even if an individual’s BAC is below that limit, they could still be arrested and charged with a DUI for driving under the influence of drugs or prescription medications.
Other factors may affect an individual’s DUI charges in Greensville including:
- If an individual is underage
- If their BAC is over .20 percent
- If a minor is a passenger in the vehicle
- If there was damage to property
- If someone was injured or killed
- If an individual has prior DUI convictions
For an individual to determine how these specific factors may alter their case, they should consult with a Greensville County DUI lawyer as soon as possible.
Aside from immediately losing driving privileges for at least seven days, a person charged with a DUI may be facing many other harsh penalties. In Virginia, most DUIs are considered Class 1 misdemeanors punishable by:
- A fine ranging from $250 to $2,500
- Up to 12 months in jail
- Loss of driving privileges for a minimum of one year
- Weekly classes to complete an alcohol safety program
- Installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle
- Six demerit points on your Virginia driving record, which can lead to additional DMV penalties
- A permanent criminal record
See Code of Virginia 18.2-270.
These penalties depend on any prior DUI convictions, when those convictions occurred, and the individual’s BAC level at the time of arrest.
A DUI attorney in Greensville County can discuss any penalties an individual might be facing in their case and come up with a strong, individualized plan to fight those penalties.
Benefits of Legal Representation
A DUI charge is not a hopeless situation. There are a number of possible defenses and ways to fight DUI charges in Virginia that could reduce an individual’s penalties or even get their charges dropped altogether.
A Greensville County DUI lawyer can investigate the case, develop a personalized legal strategy, and raise potential defenses, such as:
- Inaccurate blood-alcohol testing
- Improper administration of field sobriety tests
- Lack of probable cause (improper traffic stop)
- Mishandled evidence
- Miranda violations
Contact a Greensville DUI Attorney
DUI charges in Virginia can leave you feeling confused, overwhelmed, and stressed. Many people rely on their ability to drive to get to and from work in order to provide for their families.
A DUI charge can take away that privilege and cause financial hardships, family problems, and emotional distress.
If you have been charged with a DUI, an experienced Greensville County DUI attorney can give you the support and legal assistance you need to reduce your penalties and get you back on the road.