Dinwiddie Reckless Driving Lawyer
When you have been charged with reckless driving in Dinwiddie, it may be overwhelming to find out that you have actually been charged with a crime. Many times, “reckless driving” is accidental. However, reckless driving laws in Virginia can be serious, even if it is your first offense and even if it is unintentional. If you are facing charges of reckless driving, it is important to contact a Dinwiddie reckless driving lawyer as soon as possible. An experienced defense attorney can help to build your defense and mitigate any penalties you face.
Reckless Driving Offenses
A Dinwiddie reckless driving lawyer can help their client if they have been charged with reckless driving for any of the following reasons:
- Being involved in an accident
- Driving past a stopped school bus
- Drag racing on public streets
- Failing to maintain control of their vehicle
- Risky maneuvers, such as weaving in and out of traffic, passing two vehicles abreast, and passing on a railroad crossing
- Failing to stop for an emergency vehicle
- Driving an unsafe vehicle (i.e. a car with faulty brakes)
- Any other form of reckless driving
Reckless Driving by Speed Laws
In Virginia, speeding is considered a very serious offense, especially if it is deemed “excessive.” Under Virginia Code, speeding can be charged as reckless driving if a person drives 20 miles per hour over the speed limit, or if they drive over 80 miles per hour on any road or highway.
A person could also face reckless driving by speed charges for driving too fast for road or traffic conditions.
Speeding is one of the most common reasons that a person is pulled over and issued a reckless driving ticket. Many people do not even realize they are speeding, or may believe that a speeding ticket is the worst-case scenario. In actual fact, speeding could come with hefty fines, a loss of driving privileges, a knock to someone’s driving record, as well as a permanent criminal record.
Law Enforcement Treatment
If a person has been involved in an accident that may or may not have been their fault, a police officer arrives at the scene and may charge them with reckless driving.
Law enforcement officers in Virginia can make the decision to charge a driver with reckless driving based on witness statements, what they see at the scene of the accident, or what they personally witnessed just before the collision.
Dinwiddie’s reckless driving laws are broad and general, so officers can cite someone for reckless driving based on their own opinion.
Reckless driving in Dinwiddie is punishable by a fine of up to $2,500, license suspension, demerit points on a person’s Virginia driving record, a steep increase in car insurance rates, and even jail time. This is because reckless driving is charged as the highest class of misdemeanor in Virginia, meaning it could also leave a person with a criminal record.
Since reckless driving is not just a traffic ticket, having the legal support of a Dinwiddie reckless driving attorney is important. A reckless driving charge can negatively affect a person’s life in many ways, from not being able to drive to work, to having trouble getting a job due to the stigma of a criminal record.
Working with a Dinwiddie Reckless Driving Attorney
A local reckless driving lawyer in Dinwiddie can help defend you in court, fight to downgrade your penalties, and possibly get your charges dismissed.
We know just how terrifying a reckless driving charge can feel and are committed to helping you navigate the complex laws, paperwork, and Dinwiddie court system. Contact us to find out more about how we can support you. Dinwiddie reckless driving attorneys are ready to assist you.