Brunswick Reckless Driving Lawyer
If you have been involved in a car accident, the last thing you should worry about is facing criminal charges. In Virginia, however, you could be charged with reckless driving—a criminal offense—for causing an accident.
You could also face reckless driving charges for going 20+ miles per hour over the speed limit, losing control of your vehicle, passing another vehicle unsafely, or any other moving violation that potentially puts another person’s life or property in danger.
Reckless driving does not have to actually involve an accident, injury, or damage—it just needs to have the potential to do so. If you are facing charges of reckless driving, you need the help of a skilled defense attorney. A Brunswick reckless driving lawyer can help to build your defense.
Penalties and Consequences
Since every reckless driving case is unique, judges in Brunswick use their own discretion when making decisions about penalties. As a result, the consequences for reckless driving can vary widely, according to the Code of Virginia 18.2-11.
In Virginia, reckless driving is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor, which means the maximum penalties someone could be facing are:
- 12 months in jail
- $2,500 fine
- 6 months loss of license
Fortunately, reckless driving rarely results in maximum jail time or such a hefty fine, but it is still possible under the law. Additionally, depending on the circumstances of someone’s case and the judge’s assessment, they could face reckless driving penalties such as:
- A suspended license for up to six months (two years for a racing charge)
- Demerit points on their Virginia driving record
- Mandatory enrollment in Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP)
- DMV penalties, such as driving probation or driving suspension
If accused, it is important to build a defense and avoid these penalties with the help of a Brunswick reckless driving lawyer.
VASAP’s Reckless Driving Classes
The Virginia Alcohol Safety Action Program (VASAP) is commonly taken by people convicted of a DUI. However, VASAP also has a program for non-alcohol related offenses, like reckless driving.
After a reckless driving conviction, a judge may order an individual to enroll in the program, which consists of eight hours of driver improvement classes and four hours of stress management and “road rage” prevention courses.
Defenses to a Reckless Driving Charge
A reckless driving attorney in Brunswick can help prepare their client for their trial and zealously fight to defend them in court. It is important to speak with a local attorney, since charging courts often view reckless driving charges differently from county to county.
Brunswick reckless driving lawyers can build a solid defense against their client’s reckless driving charges to help downgrade them to a minor traffic infraction, reduce their penalties, or get their charged dropped entirely. While the facts of each case are unique, some possible defenses include:
- The radar speed gun used to record the driver’s speed was calibrated incorrectly
- There was a lack of witnesses or the police officer failed to give adequate testimony
- A driver was unaware that their vehicle was unsafe to drive (i.e. had faulty brakes)
- The accident they were involved in was not caused by reckless driving
- It was an emergency situation
- The road did not have proper markings or signage
Working with a Brunswick Reckless Driving Lawyer
If you depend on your vehicle to travel to work or school, a reckless driving charge can feel like a potentially life changing experience. Not only can a reckless driving charge cause you to have suspended (or restricted) driving privileges, but it can also lead to problems at work and at home since a Class 1 misdemeanor results in a permanent criminal record.
Even though it may seem like there is no plausible defense in your case, a Brunswick reckless driving lawyer can discuss the details of your case with you and help you fight the charge in any way possible, including mitigation of your exposure to harsh penalties.